Monday, 8 September 2014

The Grisha Trilogy: Shadow and Bone, Seige and Storm, Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Synopsis of Shadow and Bone (from Goodreads)

Pages: 325
Publisher: Indigo
Released: 31st of July 2014 (first published 2012)

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom's magical elite - the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina's childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can't she ever quite forget him?

What I Have To Say

I read these books far too quickly to give them individual reviews, but I just can't let this wonderful trilogy go past without giving it a review. They are just the sort of books you have to fall in love with because they're so special. 

The world they're set in is based on Russia and is written in such a vivid way, with lots of characters from so many different backgrounds. My favourite was definitely Sturmhond, I'm sure plenty of people share that opinion, because his humour is amazing. 

This Trilogy just had so many great lines. There were a lot of times when I had to pause and take time to appreciate a line or joke. 

This is one of those times when I just have to tell you to trust me and read it, because all three books are great reads. 

No comments:

Post a Comment